Review: The Binding by E.Z. Rinsky

The Binding by E.Z. Rinsky

A Lamb and Lavagnino Mystery

Genre: Mystery, Private-Investigators, Thriller

Publication Date: July 4, 2017

 

Fans of Marisha Pessl and Christopher Moore will be captivated by the twists and turns of E.Z. Rinsky’s second chilling noir mystery.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

 

 

When a U.S. Senator offers to have private investigator Frank Lamb’s criminal record wiped clean in return for retrieving a set of old books, he jumps at the opportunity. In the five years since his last paying job he’s been an international fugitive, separated from his daughter Sadie. He’s willing to do anything to return to normal life.

But once Frank and his old partner, Courtney Lavagnino, get to work, it becomes clear that the job is far more treacherous than they’d assumed. The books were written in prison by Oliver Vicks, a self-proclaimed prophet with a trail of grisly murders behind him. Frank and Courtney are soon piecing together a horrifying puzzle, devised by a prisoner who seems more god than man. 

In this riveting follow-up to the award-nominated Palindrome, Frank and Courtney find themselves mired in a tangle of desperation, cult-like fervor, and deception that will lead them to uncover an evil of biblical proportions.

 

BOOK LINKS:

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Apple iTunes | Google Play

REVIEW:

I actually laugh. “First of all, I’m on the Interpol list. Second, you’re suggesting that we bring the cops to a murder scene and tell them that Oliver Vicks did it. Well, what if they go to the prison, and somehow he’s still there Court? You think about that? Then who’s the prime suspect? Probably the last people who ever spoke to Rico—with hundreds of aquarium goers to testify to that.” The phone starts ringing again. Can almost here the frustration in every desperate vibration.

A serial killer is after you, what do you do? This man is creepy, but yet he has never personally done anything to warrant your suspicions? He is socially awkward and keeps to himself. He has a fascination with his writing tools and doodles pictures in a leather bound book in a café for as long as you’ve been working there…when do the red flags start going off in your head? For Becky, it was once it had been too late. This serial killer, Oliver Vicks, has killed all of her family and has his life all planned out. He tells Becky that she is his queen and that he will be reunited with her after he escapes from prison. What would any sane person make of that comment? How would you ever get the trauma out of your head?

 

Twenty years later, two private investigators are called in to make a huge exchange on behalf of Senator Sampson’s request. Courtney is kind of washed up, doing meaningless jobs, without his partner Frank. Frank is somewhere in Europe, running from Interpol after their last job went south. Once Courtney receives the request, he knows that he can’t do this job by himself even though it seems very easy. There just has to be some kind of catch. After he finds Frank, they fly back to the states, Colorado to be exact, for debriefing before they need to make the exchange. So many things don’t add up about this request; exchanging billions of dollars for twenty-four books? Senator Sampson appears to be brainwashed by a serial killer he met in prison and things just keep getting stranger. Both Courtney and Frank start to wonder if they didn’t just make a big mistake accepting the job. Being on the Senator’s list of screw-ups is bad enough, but now they have to be ever vigilant in watching their backs, because the serial killer that was perceived to be in prison is out running around and killing people to complete his life’s work and they could be next.

 

Rinsky has a superb story-line and complex characters that are mysterious and deranged. The content is truly amazing by the sheer originality and descriptiveness, while the pace is fast and easy to read. The religious aspect, paired up with the mystery makes the story come to life with creativity. This is the second installment within the Lamb and Laviagnino series; however, it can be read as a standalone. It is strongly advised that due to content, it is not recommended for children or teens.

 

A copy of this book was provided to Turning Another Page by Aurora Publicity, but this is no way affects our honest opinion of the book or the review that has been written. We provide a five-star rating for The Binding by E.Z. Rinsky.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

 

 

E.Z. Rinsky grew up in Colorado. He has worked as a statistics and economics professor, copywriter and–for one misguided year–a street musician. He lives in Tel Aviv.

Connect with E.Z. Rinsky here:

Goodreads | Amazon | Website | Twitter | Facebook

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *