MY HANDS HOLD MY STORY by Bethany Swafford

Publication Date: September 18, 2018

Genre: Romance, Westerns

 

For fans of A Knight of Silence and Read My Lips comes a YA historical western full of grit and heart…

In 1874, Ivy Steele’s deafness is more than a handicap. It’s a disease. Surrounded by a family that doesn’t understand her, she’s learned to cope and find solace where she can. Then, the unexpected happens. Her aunt dies, and her uncle sends her away to rejoin her father’s family in Montana.

Left to fend for herself, after the companion hired to escort her abandons her, sixteen-year-old Ivy faces continual hardship and danger. Several men see an unaccompanied Ivy as a flower ripe for the picking, and things only get worse when masked men hold up their stagecoach.

Barely scraping through, Ivy makes it to Montana with her nerves shaken and what little money she has in her boot. Expecting a peaceful if not affectionate welcome, Ivy finds herself in greater hardship than she’s ever known.

Surrounded by a stepfamily that hates her, and flung into a life where hearing is vital, Ivy finds solace in a handsome cowboy named Remy. But things with her new family are not what they seem. And Ivy is about to find out that the danger she faced on the journey west, has followed her to Montana…

 

BOOK LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

 

SNIPPET

The weather had changed so much. It had been early spring with flowers blooming. I hadn’t known what to expect once I left Massachusetts and hadn’t been prepared for the heat that hit during several portions of my journey.

I felt the coach jolt as it increased speed. The bouncing became more erratic as I saw the other passengers panicked around me.

What was happening?

The fingers of my right hand gripped the padded seat, and my left clutched at the side of the coach. I dared to glance out the window and regretted it immediately. Keeping pace beside the coach with ease were several horses and riders with handkerchiefs covering the lower halves of their faces.

Stagecoach robbers!

My heart skipped a beat as I stared at the men. Of course, I’d known there was the risk of this happening when I began, but I had convinced myself that the stories were often exaggerated and travel was as safe as it had ever been.

And now I was in the middle of it with no idea what I should do.

The coach slowed and then came to a stop. As soon as the coach halted, the door was pulled open, and a rifle came into sight. No doubt the owner of said gun barked out an order for us to come out.

Sending a concerned glance in my direction, the kindly man who had looked out for me was the first to climb out. He moved with slow, deliberate actions, his hands in view at all times. The other men followed suit and then it was my turn.

 

TOP TEN FAVORITE READS OF 2018

  1. Promises and Primroses by Josi S. Kilpack
  2. My Sister’s Intended by Rachel Anderson
  3. The Weaver’s Daughter by Sarah E. Ladd
  4. Loving Lieutenant Lancaster by Sarah M. Eden
  5. Murder of Half Moon Gate by Andrea Penrose
  6. A Dangerous Debut by Wendy May Andrews
  7. Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen
  8. Duels and Deception by Cindy Anstey
  9. A Lady’s Guide to Etiquette and Murder by Dianne Freeman
  10. Murder at Ochre Court by Alyssa Maxwell

For as long as she can remember, Bethany Swafford has loved reading books. That love of words extended to writing as she grew older and when it became more difficult to find a ‘clean’ book, she determined to write her own. Among her favorite authors are Jane Austen, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and Georgette Heyer.

When she doesn’t have pen to paper (or fingertips to laptop keyboard), she can generally be found with a book in hand. In her spare time, Bethany reviews books for a book site called More Than A Review.

 

CONNECT WITH BETHANY HERE:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

 

To view our blog schedule and follow along with this tour visit our Official Event page 

a Rafflecopter giveaway