Great Read 🏆

In this young adult thriller perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars, Thirteen Reasons Why, and Sadie, a teenage girl is about to find out how far she will go to get revenge on those who have taken everything from her. 


BOOK DETAILS:

  • Author : Kelly Gunderman
  • Narrator : Veronica Orosco
  • Publication Date: December 11, 2020
  • Length : 6 hours 15 minutes
  • Publisher : Kelly Gunderman
  • Genre: Young Adult, Teen Fiction

When 17 year old high school senior Kaitlyn Davis is almost raped and then brutally murdered at a party by three boys she goes to school with, she uses her dying breath to swear that they will pay for what they’ve done. When she wakes up the next morning, she is a bit blurry on the night before and gets a big surprise – she’s alive? How? 

Soon, things start getting weird – it seems as though no one can see her or hear her, and no matter what she does, she can’t seem to feel anything, such as temperature. She can still move things around and touch others, and the room suddenly drops about 30 degrees wherever she is, but why?  

That’s when she is forced to accept it – she’s dead. At first, Kaitlyn grieves the loss of her short life – there are so many things that she is going to miss out on, so many things that she will never get to do. But then she gets angry, and she remembers her promise to get revenge on those who had taken her life. Setting out to give them what they deserve, Kaitlyn has no plans to stop until she gets the revenge she desires.


OUR REVIEW

The door closes and I open my eyes to see if Kevin’s gone yet, and he is. I want to scream – how could I have kissed her? I feel my eyes well up with tears again, but I can’t let them fall – I refuse to let her see me cry when she gets back here with Kevin. Besides, it isn’t like she wouldn’t be able to tell that I’ve been crying, anyway. I doubt I have a single bit of makeup left on my face at this point. I really don’t need even more humiliation tonight, do I? I lie back on the bed, despite my better judgement, but it’s either I get comfy or I throw up. Closing my eyes tight, I can feel myself start to drift off, and I hope I’ll remember everything that happened tonight when I wake up.

Chapter Three ~ Living Dead Girl

Living Dead Girl is a story about what every parent of a teenaged girl fears. Being a parent and having a teenaged daughter can be a pain in the butt, but it is bearable. Losing that daughter… that is something that is unfathomable. This story is told from the daughter’s perspective, after one wild and violent high school party. While this is a story of fiction, retelling what happens after the main character dies, it does bring up relevant issues with our youth today. An increase in violence among teenagers and bullying is something that is happening, and trends are being statistically reported. While Gunderman’s Living Dead Girl is an example of an extreme case of violence, it will capture the reader’s emotional longing to find justice.

Kaitlyn is a senior in high school and she is head over heels for her best friend, Dana. Thinking she can withhold the feelings, she agrees to go to a party where everything starts to get a little fuzzy. There’s drinking, dancing, and so much pressure that before Kaitlyn realizes what she is doing, she makes a move. Dana’s rejection of her kiss is earth-shattering and can instantly bring an end to their friendship. Feelings of sadness and defeat start to set in when a boy from her school takes an interest in her well-being. What seems to be innocent, quickly turns into something that she cannot control, as he and his friends attack her, attempting sexual abuse in the process, ending in broken glass, blood in the snow, and Kaitlyn gasping for air as her world grows dark. Waking up cold and not understanding why she cannot feel a thing, her memories are slow to return and the line between revenge and justice only grows thinner by the day as her rage mounts with the realization that she is dead and her loved ones cannot help her. Someone is to blame for her death and they cannot just pretend that nothing happened and live their lives while she watches. How will she ever find peace, especially if they get rid of the evidence for good?

Gunderman’s story is tragic, but it is fiction. As the book summary suggests, readers who enjoy Pretty Little Liars and Thirteen Reasons Why will gravitate toward this book. It is a glimpse into some of the issues high school teens face as well as young adults. The writing is credible and morale is powerful. These make for great reads because the reader can relate and empathize with the characters. When it is not always clear what is right and what is wrong, the lines of grey make a story likeable. No one knows what they would do in a situation like this when it is presented, so readers hang on tighter until something ultimately just happens to satisfy them. The narrator is good, her voice relay is a bit chipper for this type of story, but it does not appear she had any trouble reading over the words written, making it seem the story is well-written and the pace remains even throughout. If you are a reader of teen and young adult fiction, you may want to pick this one up for a read.

An audiobook was provided to Turning Another Page by Audiobookworm Promotions and in no way affects the honesty of this review. We provide a four-star rating to Living Dead Girl by Kelly Gunderman.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kelly Gunderman was born a child of the late eighties in small-town Pennsylvania. A bibliophile in her own right, she is hoping to one day surpass the number of pages she has turned with those she has written of her own accord.

Having recently completed her Bachelor’s in Early Childhood Development, Kelly suddenly found herself with a bit more free time than usual, and began her immediately successful foray into blogging and Freelance Writing, which subsequently led to her renewed desire to finally put her ideas and imaginings “on paper.”

Focusing primarily on the Young Adult genre, Kelly is the author of Finding Me and Living Dead Girl. She currently resides in her original home town with her husband, their two daughters, and a few cats that constantly challenge the sanity of all with their ill-advised attempts at what can only be assumed to be world domination.


ABOUT THE NARRATOR

Veronica brings both a youthful and genuine voice to commercial, narration, audio books, audio dramas, animation, eLearning courses and make-believe characters alike. A great description of her voice can be found in girl next door, wholesome, invigorating and fresh medium tone. Her voice acting is an extension of her amazing acting skills. If you need not just a voice but an actor with that voice, look no further.

When did you know you wanted to be an audiobook narrator? I started my pursuit of acting in 2011, and had to do some voice over work for a short film I was a part of. When I saw the finished product and heard my voice over the film, I was like ‘wow, this could be something’. As I started my research into voice acting, audiobooks would come up often and I thought how fun it would be to lend the voices I like to just use for my own enjoyment, possibly bring some joy to those who could listen to me bring a story to life! My credits can be found on my IMDB page under Veronica Pierce, my stage name.

What are your favorite and least favorite parts of narrating an audiobook? My favorite parts about narrating a book are becoming the characters in the story. I like to get to know each character by using the author’s descriptions of them and really hone in on what the author was trying to convey in their personalities. My least favorite parts are editing the audio files as this can be a very cumbersome yet fulfilling process, but I am a perfectionist so when I hear a small thing I dislike, I wind up re-recording the line all together which creates more work for myself.

What about this title compelled you to audition as narrator? I was intrigued by the title, so when I was browsing authors who were looking for narrators, I saw this book and clicked to read the synopsis and loved it! I thought this would be a great fit for me as the title character was a young woman who is trying to solve a mystery of sorts and I was drawn in. So I took a chance and submitted a read for consideration, never dreaming I would actually get the chance to voice this amazing book!

How did you decide how each character should sound in this title? I read through this book first entirely first to get a good feel for each character. I took Kaitlyn under my wing and really just gave her my own voice, so I played her as if I truly was her. In Dana, I took inspiration from one of my closest friends to be able to understand how her friendship towards Kaitlyn played in this book, fun loving and her wild side! For the boys, I really thought about every boy I knew in my high school days and gave them some character from the boys of my past. I was even inspired to open up my High School yearbook to take a dive into my own past.

What bits of advice would you give to aspiring audiobook narrators? Practice, practice, practice! That old adage is very true and I would suggest reading out loud to yourself and to anyone willing to be your audience! You can see how well of a storyteller you really are by seeing how you can successfully captivate your audience or even start to pick up on nuances in your voice that you may never have noticed. Most important, have fun!


Click here to view the full tour schedule!

We are a REVIEWER for: