Author: Keith Latch; Steve Wands

Narrator: Matthew Berry

Length: 5 hours and 34 minutes

Publisher: Keith Latch, Steve Wands

Released: Apr. 18, 2019

Genre: Horror

Occult investigator Sam Logan receives a cryptic call about a man’s missing son that leads him and his partner, Carter Mason – a disabled veteran – into a small town infested with vampires. With each hour they spend in town after dark they discover just how deep the infestation runs and just how unlikely father and son will be reunited.

Trail of Blood is an exciting, blood-soaked, pause-resister for fans of The Lost Boys and Hellblazer.

At the age of 12, Keith read Dean Koontz’s The Voice of Night. Thus, began his love affair with the things that go bump in the night and the things that are not easily explained. Cemetery Things is the author’s second novel. Currently, he lives in a small town in the American South with his wife and is hard at work on his next novel.

WebsiteTwitterFacebook

Author Bio

STEVE WANDS is an Indie author, Artist, and Comic Book Letterer. He works on top titles at DC Comics, Image, and Random House. He’s the author of the Stay Dead series, co-author to Trail of Blood, and is a writer of short stories. When not working he spends time with his wife and sons in New Jersey.

WebsiteTwitterFacebookGoodreadsAmazonInstagram

Narrator Bio

Matthew has been very active in his career as a radiologic technologist, but something was nagging at him. His urging to be involved with the written word. The medical journals he wrote did not fill the desire for the kind of words he wanted to be a part of. He had always considered himself a writer. But one that often had difficulties completing the story. So, how else could he be involved? Matthew began listening to audiobooks and decided in 2017 that he was going to give it a try.

He now has 9 audiobook projects on sale at Amazon, Audible, and iTunes with two projects in the works.

TwitterFacebookInstagramSoundcloud

What was I thinking? Was Sam Logan’s only thought. At least the only though he had until the right cross knocked it from his head. Then, it was how much blood actually tasted like a penny. And pennies tasted like shit. Sam was tied to a wooden chair in a large dark room in a long dark room in a long empty warehouse. There were several barrels nearby. One with an open lid, no doubt reserved for him. Whatever was in those barrels was decomposing. Another recognizable rotting odor hung in the air: algae, wet earth, decayed vegetation and still water. There was something else recognizable in the air but before Sam could pinpoint it another right cross knocked all thoughts out of his head. Funny thing about right crosses, any solid punch really, they caused the mind to dwell on such things as the smell of whatever swampy marshland this was near.

If you had the choice of remaining as a human or living as an immortal, what would you choose? That seems like a loaded question, right?! Some would jump at the immortal bit without question, but others may ask what the consequences are. Would you have to kill other humans? Would you have to drink blood to survive? Do the things like stakes, garlic, and sunlight hurt you if you do decide to play favorites to the undead? Wands and Latch collaborated on one very detailed and graphic vampire mystery that will have readers on edge.

Sam Logan is an investigator and not just any investigator, he deals with the monsters that go bump in the night and that includes vampires. When he receives a call from a man who hasn’t been able to reach out to his son, he fears that the vampires may have already taken him. This leads Sam and his partner, Carter to investigate more into the town. Upon arrival, it appears to be almost a ghost town. Usually when an infestation gets this bad, they have to call in the authorities to wipe out the whole town, but Sam and Carter take it upon themselves to look for Joe’s missing son. What they discover is much bigger than they could have ever imagined and quite frankly, may be too dangerous to get out of alive.

Wands and Latch have an interesting view on vampires in this story, one that sticks to some of the vampire lore along with some original content as well. The character development could have been better, considering that there is really no back-story and characters are thrown into the mix so quickly, it may be easy for readers to feel lost or confused throughout the action. Since this review compliments the audiobook, Berry was a very noteworthy narrator. Almost all of the characters had vocal differentiation and he really seemed to get into the scenes with vigor. The pace is quite fast, but overall the story is entertaining. The narrator does not seem to have any issue with mispronunciation or grammatical quips; therefore, it is safe to assume that the story is well-written. If you are a reader of vampire mysteries and paranormal/occult investigations, you may want to pick this up for a quick read. After listening to this audiobook, it is our recommendation that an audience over the age of 18 is preferred due to language, violence, and sexual content.

A copy of this audiobook was provided to Turning Another Page by Audiobookworm Promotions and in no way affects the honesty of this review. We provide a four-star rating to Trail of Blood by Steve Wands & Keith Latch.

Q&A with Sam and Carter of Trail of Blood

  • Would you ever tell a lie to get yourself out of trouble? Sam: Guess that depends on the lie and the level of trouble I’m in.
  • In moments of big decisions, do you listen to your head or your heart? Sam: Heart or gut, always. Trust your instincts.
  • If you had to state one emotion that typically describes you, what would it be? Sam: Overwhelming Joy. Carter: Ha! Does a constant simmering rage qualify as an emotion? Sam: Fuck off.
  • Do you prefer being by yourself (Introvert) or with other people (Extrovert)? Sam: Carter, want to take this one, too? Carter: No, no. I’m good. Sam: Sorry, what was the question? Oh, introvert or extrovert, right? I definitely prefer being with other people. Carter: Bartenders and the opposite sex, only though. Sam: Fuck this. You do the damned interview while I go out for a smoke.
  • Who is the most important person in your life? Carter: He’d say me. Definitely.
  • If you were filling out an online dating profile, what would you say you were looking for? Carter: Sam would probably give you a wiseass remark like, “a way out.”
  • What’s your idea of romance? Carter: I don’t think Sam has an idea on romance.
  • How do you feel about black tie events? Sam: I love them, most of my events are black tie be default. Carter: That was a quick smoke. Just because you generally wear a tie, doesn’t make an event ‘black tie’.
  • What relaxes you when you are stressed? Sam/Carter (in unison): Bourbon.
  • If you listen to music, what kind of music do you like? Sam: All kinds. Depends on the mood. None of that top 40 shit, though.
  • Do you have any pet peeves? Sam: I really can’t stand it when a bloodsucker ruins a perfectly good shirt. I should just go hunting in a poncho.

June 23rd:

T’s Stuff

Valerie Ullmer | Romance Author

Crossroad Reviews

June 24th:

The Book Junkie Reads . . .

June 25th:

Jazzy Book Reviews

June 26th:

Dab of Darkness Audiobook Reviews

eBook Addicts

June 27th:

Momma Says To Read or Not to Read

The Book Addict’s Reviews

June 28th:

Notes from ‘Round the Bend

From the TBR Pile

June 29th:

A Page to Turn

Turning Another Page

➜Sign up as a host here