Audio Series Blog Tour + Review: One to Watch by Rachel Amphlett

Author: Rachel Amplett

Narrator: Alison Campbell

Length: 7 hours 27 minutes

Series: Detective Kay Hunter, Book 3

Publisher: Saxon Publishing

Genre: Mystery, Police Procedural

Sophie Whittaker shared a terrifying secret. Hours later, she was dead.

Detective Kay Hunter and her colleagues are shocked by the vicious murder of a teenage girl at a private party in the Kentish countryside.

A tangled web of dark secrets is exposed as twisted motives point to a history of greed and corruption within the tight-knit community.

Confronted by a growing number of suspects and her own enemies who are waging a vendetta against her, Kay makes a shocking discovery that will make her question her trust in everyone she knows.

One to Watch is a gripping murder mystery thriller, and the third in the Detective Kay Hunter series. A whodunit for fans of Jeffery Deaver, Peter James, David Baldacci, and James Patterson.

RachelAmphlett.com

Before turning to writing, Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC, and worked in publishing as a sub-editor and editorial assistant.

She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the Dan Taylor espionage novels and the Detective Kay Hunter series.

Originally from the UK and currently based in Brisbane, Australia, Rachel cites her writing influences as Michael Connelly, Lee Child, and Robert Ludlum. She’s also a huge fan of Peter James, Val McDermid, Robert Crais, Stuart MacBride, and many more.

She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.

WebsiteTwitterFacebookGoodreadsInstagram

 

 

Eva sighed, and resolving to leave as soon as possible, she turned to make her way back up the slope, and stopped. At first, she couldn’t work out what she was seeing. A form lay stretched out behind one of the other rhododendron bushes several paces away from her position. Only the legs were visible, white and unmoving. She swallowed, and moved closer, squinting in the poor light. It looked like a person, and as she wobbled her way towards it, she recognised the skirt of the dress. ‘Sophie? That you? You pass out or something?’ Concerned, she quickened her pace. She’d done a first aid course at school, and knew that if someone had passed out, you were meant to check their airway and then put them in the recovery position. If Sophie had passed out drunk, then she needed help.

 

Children should never be faced with death. It is immoral, it is devastating and it is tragic. But, who do you place the blame on? If it is cancer, the blame is placed on doctors or perhaps the man upstairs, but there is rarely ever vengeful thoughts or a demand for justice. When it is murder—that blame is placed irrevocably on the person responsible for abruptly ending that life. Murder makes everyone look guilty and suddenly motive is everywhere, but could it have been random? A complete stranger or was it someone close? Amphlett has an intriguing third installment in her Detective Kay Hunter Mystery series which will leave readers entertained and guessing for most of the story.

 

Detective Kay Hunter is always the one with the whodunit cases. A teenage girl is found dead at a party that is meant to celebrate her purity pledge and engagement to the boy of a wealthy and well-known family. Secrets run amuck in this mysterious tragedy, but Detective Kay Hunter doesn’t have the clearance to get to the bottom of things quickly. Instead, since the families involved are high-end, they have to tip toe around all of the evidence that they find. It is easy to guess that everyone had motive to kill Sophie Whitaker, but who actually did it? Once the murder suspects are all out on the table, no one can hide behind wealth or fame. Can Detective Kay Hunter crack this case open or will this case be the one that ends her career? If she doesn’t watch her back, her superior may find reason to ruin her once and for all.

 

Amphlett has a great third installment with her Detective Kay Hunter Mystery series, One to Watch. The character development is purposefully slow as to not give away the whole story-line right away, but the pace and flow are steady. Since this review is complementing the audiobook, the narrator portrayed the characters beautifully and with the author’s vivid description, they both gave life to the story together. The narrator may need to work on her accent building when shifting between British English to American English, as some of the dialogue was quite stiff and pronounced incorrectly, but sometimes that can be a very tough mission to accomplish. If you are a reader of murder mystery and crime fiction, you may enjoy this book. With this being the third installment in the Detective Kay Hunter series, readers can still read or listen to this book as a standalone, but their are hints and nods back to the first and second installments.

 

An audiobook was provided to Turning Another Page by Audiobookworm Promotions and in no way affects the honesty of this review. We provide a five-star rating for One to Watch by Rachel Amphlett.

Guest Post

Rachel Amphlett’s Favourite First-In-Series Crime Fiction

We’re getting ready to move house in the new year, which means at some point I’m going to have to box up all eight bookshelves of crime and thriller books that are currently lining the walls of one of the rooms downstairs.

After sorting out which books would have to go to the charity shop – unless scientists work out a way to clone me in the next fifty years, there’s a very good chance I’ll never get to these a second time around – I was left with some of the crime series that have stayed with me for years, and that I’ll be hanging onto for a long time yet.

This got me thinking: what is it about these first in series novels that still capture my imagination after all this time? And what is it about these books that influence my own writing?

Michael Connelly – The Black Echo (Harry Bosch #1)

Connelly captures so much about his famous detective Harry Bosch in this first novel in the series, but does so without making you feel bombarded by information.

Once a “tunnel rat” in the Vietnam jungle, and now a police detective with the LAPD, Harry Bosch isn’t what I’d call a dynamic character, but he is compelling. It’s his careful consideration of each case that crosses his desk, and the way in which he cares about every single victim no matter their background.

Equally as compelling as Harry Bosch is Connelly’s descriptions of the cityscape within which the stories are based; each location is described in such a way that, for example, by the time you read about Harry heading home of an evening in the latest book in the series, you almost know which CD track he’s going to put on to listen to.

What have I learned from reading the Harry Bosch books? Setting is as important as character.

Peter James – Dead Simple (Roy Grace #1)

Maybe not a book to give to your fiancée before his stag night…

The first chapter of this book has to be one of the most memorable introductions to a detective series I’ve ever come across, and I won’t spoil it here by telling if you if you haven’t yet read it.

At the end of the first chapter, you’re left in total shock and dying to know what happens next. Told from several points of view, the whole story is turned on its head about two-thirds of the way through and then it’s a fast-paced page-turning read to the end.

What have I learned from reading the Roy Grace books? The books may be named after Roy Grace, but there’s a great ensemble cast, and this is something that felt natural to me as I wrote the first in the Kay Hunter series. I wanted those co-stars to be considered just as important as Kay. After all, no police detective works alone, and there are myriad experts on hand to help solve the case.

Angela Marsons – Silent Scream (Kim Stone #1)

Angela’s Kim Stone books are modern twisty thrillers that bring the genre bang up to date into the twenty-first century and I’ve no doubt this series will endure for a long time yet.

I remember when the first in the series, Silent Scream, was published – everyone was utterly blown away by the story and I recall seeing the book cover everywhere online. In Silent Scream we meet Kim Stone for the first time and quickly realise that if she is to stop a sadistic killer, she’s going to have to confront some very dark memories of her own. Kim Stone is ruthless in her quest for justice for the victims in these novels, and her investigations lead her into dangerous physical and emotional places.

What have I learned from reading the Kim Stone series? The modern detective story has evolved for the twenty-first century, and so have female protagonists.

Lee Child – Killing Floor (Jack Reacher #1)

I remember picking up a second hand copy of Kililng Floor about three years after it was first published, and it really was the first time I’d ever heard of this strange lone wolf character by the name of Jack Reacher.

What have I learned from reading the Jack Reacher books? Use short sentences to keep the action moving along. You don’t often see long sweeping sentences in Lee Child’s novels – they’re punchy, to the point, and don’t waste time.

A bit like Jack Reacher, you might say…

Giveaway

The Detective Kay Hunter Series Giveaway: Signed Paperback & Bookmark Set

Book 3

Apr. 12th:

Dab of Darkness Audiobook Reviews

Jorie Loves A Story

Apr. 13th:

2 Girls and A Book

Hall Ways Blog

Apr. 14th:

AudioSpy

The Writing Train

Turning Another Page

Apr. 15th:

Next Book Review

Apr. 16th:

Bound 4 Escape

Jazzy Book Reviews

Apr. 17th:

Lomeraniel

Buried Under Books

Booktalk with Eileen

Apr. 18th:

The Book Addict’s Reviews

What Is That Book About

➜Sign up as a host here

1 thought on “Audio Series Blog Tour + Review: One to Watch by Rachel Amphlett

  1. Pingback: ⭐️ Series Blog Tour: The Detective Kay Hunter Series by Rachel Amphlett -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *